The RPSC Incoming Directors & Officers Meeting

held on Saturday May 27, 2017, at 12:30 p.m. in the Montarville Room, Hotel Mortagne, Boucherville, Quebec

Record of Decisions

1/ The meeting was opened at 12:30 pm with twelve (12) Directors and Members in attendance – Jim Taylor, Robert Pinet, Robert Lunn, Sam Chiu, Ed Kroft, Charles Verge, Stuart Keeley, Hugo Deshaye, Francois Brisse, George Pepall, Douglas McAndless and Mike Walsh. In addition, Rod Paige was appointed Secretary. Jim Taylor, gave some welcoming remarks and made sure that everyone was introduced.

- 2/ The Agenda was approved
- 3/ Uncompleted Business from previous meeting: In his capacity as Outgoing President, George Pepall proposed the appointment of two (2) new Directors to the Board Douglas McAndless and Mike Walsh who were both asked to leave the room while voting took place. The vote carried and both were then invited to join the Board. Because of his position as Editor of the Canadian Stamp & Coin News, Mike Walsh was specifically reminded by Ed Kroft to keep all Board proceedings strictly confidential to which Mike agreed.
- 4/ Appointment of Executive Committee for 2017-2018:

President George Pepall asked for nominations. Robert Lunn nominated Jim Taylor. George Pepall repeated the nomination call three (3) times. Douglas McAndless made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Robert Pinet and **Jim Taylor was thereby acclaimed President**.

Vice President George then called for nominations. Robert Pinet proposed Ed Kroft who asked for a few minutes to consider his position. Jim Taylor nominated Sam Chiu who thanked Jim for his consideration but declined the nomination. After a short discussion on other possible candidates, Ed Kroft accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations and Ed Kroft was acclaimed Vice President

Immediate Past President George Pepall was acclaimed Immediate Past President

Board Secretary George again called for nominations. Robert Lunn nominated Robert Pinet and Jim Taylor nominated Sam Chiu who respectfully declined the position. There were no further nominations and **Robert Pinet was acclaimed Board Secretary**

Treasurer David Oberholtzer has served four (4) terms totaling eight (8) years and so cannot continue as a Director but can assist as an Officer. **David Oberholtzer** was appointed as **Assistant Treasurer**. Jim Taylor nominated Stuart Keeley who after advising the Board of his qualifications accepted the nomination. George Pepall repeated the nomination call three (3) times and Hugo Deshaye called for nominations to close. **Stuart Keeley was thereby acclaimed Treasurer**.

Signing Authority There are four (4) Directors/Members with signing authority – Incoming President **Jim Taylor**, Treasurer **Stuart Keeley**, Assistant Treasurer **David Oberholtzer** and Office Administrator **Margaret Schulzke**. A motion to approve was proposed by Stuart Keeley and seconded by Robert Lunn – carried unanimously.

George Pepall congratulated the new Board and Ed Kroft noted the great diversity of members.

5/ Appointment of Committees:

The Canadian Philatelist Editor: Herb Colling Associate Editor: Francois Brisse

BNAPS Liaison Robert Pinet, Hugo Deshaye

Chapter & Affiliates Liaison George Pepall, Stuart Keeley, Douglas McAndless

CSDA Liaison Rodney Paige

PSSC Liaison Sam Chiu

Conventions Liaison Rodney Paige, Stuart Keeley. (There was a short discussion on clashes at the current show between dealers and the show organizer. All parties have aired their views to the convention liaison and we will all learn from this experience)

Ethics Committee Ed Kroft, Robert Timberg, Stuart Keeley

50-Year Club Margaret Schulzke

Finance Committee David Oberholtzer, Peter Kritz, Garfield Portch, John Sheffield,

Stuart Keeley.

Development & Planned Giving Robin Harris, David Oberholtzer, Peter Kritz, Mike Walsh

FQP Liaison Francois Brisse

Geldert Medal Ed Kroft, Kevin O'Reilly, Charles Verge

Historian/Archives Charles Verge

International Liaison Jim Taylor, Sam Chiu, Robert Pinet, Charles Verge

Legal Advisor Ed Kroft, QC

Membership & New Collector Co-ordinator Robert Pinet, Lloyd Field

Facebook/Social Media Sam Chiu (C), Robert Lunn, Mike Walsh, Robert Pinet, Hugo

Deshaye, Robert Timberg. Jesse Robitaille

Membership Reporting Garfield Portch, National Office

Multi-Media Program Garfield Portch, Marilyn Melanson, Robert Lunn

National & Regional Judging David Piercey (C), Charles J.G.Verge (Ont), Ed Kroft (BC), **Regional**: Sam Chiu (Ont), Robert Lunn (Atlantic Canada).

National Office

Robert Timberg, Margaret Schulzke, Garfield Portch, Andrea Scott

APS Liaison – John McEntyre; Canada Post Liaison – Peter Butler, Mike Walsh; Insurance Plans

– Garfield Portch; **Medals and Awards – National Office; Press Releases – National Office

(Robert Timberg), President (Jim Taylor), Mike Walsh; Public Relations – George Pepall, Garfield Portch, Robert Timberg, National Office; Services Francophones – Robert Pinet.

** Following a discussion on responsibility for show medals, it was determined that the National Office (Garfield Portch) would head a committee with Sam Chiu and David Piercey assisting. Sam Chui offered to find out more about how the medals are produced and stored etc. Final responsibility rests with each of the National level show Chairpersons who are also responsible for sourcing and/or applying for awards from the relevant Societies.

Nominating Committee Robert Lunn, George Pepall, Robert Timberg

RPSC National Exhibits Database Robert McGuinness, David Piercey

RPSC website Robin Harris (with Sam Chiu as liaison to RPSC)

Sales Circuit Sandra Foss

Services Francophone Robert Pinet

T.A.P.E. Executive Director TBA

Youth Commission Stuart Keeley, Lloyd Field, Douglas McAndless

6/ New Business: Stuart Keeley spoke briefly about arrangements for the Royal/2018/Royale to be held in St. Catharines, Ontario $22^{nd}-24^{th}$ June 2018

7/ Adjournment was proposed by Robert Pinet. The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 pm

Rod Paige

Secretary

rpaige@sympatico.ca